Back to my main astronomy and astrophotography page.

Jupiter Page

Astrophotography of Jupiter

Page Contents

1.   Introduction

2.   Jupiter Images April 2004

3.   Jupiter Shadow Transits

4.   Jupiter Software

Orion Telescopes..Superb Optics at a Great Price!!

 

Introduction

This page is dedicated to some of my favorite photos of Jupiter using my telescope and webcam. Telescope: 8" Celestron SCT/Camera: Philips ToUcam Pro 740k.

 


 

Jupiter Images from April 2nd & 3rd, 2004

This was a really cool project with my telescope and webcam! I imaged Jupiter for about 2 1/2 hours to pick up on the changing details as the planet rotated. In fact, you can see the Great Red Spot working its way around the planet on the bottom row of photos. Jupiter has a very fast rotation period of about 10 hours. Thus, a lot can be seen watching the planet for a short period of time. Unfortunately, the atmosphere didn't hold steady for the duration so some of the photos were not as crisp as others. I plan to repeat this process on a better night.  Click on each image for full size version. Ray

       

Jupiter 1

10:51 PM CST

(4:51 UT)

 

Jupiter 2

10:59 PM CST

(4:59 UT)

 

Jupiter 3

11:32 PM CST

(5:32 UT)

 

Jupiter 4

11:48 PM CST

(5:48 UT)

 

       
       

Jupiter 5

12:21 AM CST

(6:21 UT)

 

Jupiter 6

12:56 AM CST

(6:56 UT)

 

Jupiter 7

1:16 AM CST

(7:16 UT)

 

Jupiter 8

1:39 AM CST

(7:39 UT)

 

Back to Top


Jupiter's Shadow Transits

Jupiter shadow transits are always exciting to image. A shadow transit is where a planet's moon passes between the planet and the sun, casting a shadow on the planet's disk. The same thing occurs on earth during a solar eclipse. Below are some of my favorite images taken through my telescope using the webcam.

Jupiter Shadow Transit

Jupiter & Moon's Ganymede (left) and Io (right).
Ray Shore 5-14-04
Telescope: 8" Celestron SCT
Camera: Philips ToUcam Pro 740k
Note the shadow of Io on the face of Jupiter.

 

Jupiter Shadow Transit

Jupiter & Moon Europa
Ray Shore 6-1-04
Telescope: 8" Celestron SCT
Camera: Philips ToUcam Pro 740k
Note the shadow of Europa on the face of Jupiter.

 

Back to Top


 

Jupiter Software

Jupiter Software

Download Jupiter software program  that provides a range of information on Jupiter and graphically displays the planet (including its Great Red Spot) and the positions of its four main satellites, Io, Europa, Ganymede and Callisto (in real time) and their shadows.

Click here for details.


 


Back to Top

Portable Scopes for Summer!

Lunar phase software: LunarPhase Pro

Questions or comments? Please email me at: ray@shoregalaxy.com.

Ray's Astronomy and Astrophography Homepage